Dally M MedalDally-M Medal

The Dally M Medal is the premier individual award in the National Rugby League, which is given to the best and fairest player in the competition for that year. To be eligible, a player must not have been suspended from the competition at any stage during the season and obviously have performed remarkably well through-out the season, the player usually had received representative honours as well.

The award was named after Henry Herbert 'Dally' Messenger, who was instrumental in the establishment of Rugby League in Australia. The award was originally established in 1980 by the Daily Mirror newspaper and was for many years the second major individual award behind the Rothmans Medal.

In 1998, with the merger of the Australian Rugby League and the Australian Super League, the Dally M became the only player-of-the-year award. The medal is awarded at the annual Dally M Awards night where as well as honouring the player of the year, the awards night also recognizes the premier player in each position, the best coach and the most outstanding rookie of the season.

News Limited journalists vote on the best performing players in each match on a 3, 2, 1 points system. The scores of the voting are visible to the public and media up until Round 16 of the NRL season

Year Medal Winner Team   Position
2017 Cameron Smith Hooker
2016 Cooper Cronk

Jason Taumalolo


Second Row
2015 Johnathan Thurston Halfback
2014 Johnathan Thurston/Jarryd Hayne Halfback/Fullback
2013 Cooper Cronk Halfback
2012 Ben Barba Fullback
2011 Billy Slater Fullback
2010 Todd Carney Five-Eighth
2009 Jarryd Hayne Fullback
2008 Matt Orford Halfback
2007 Johnathan Thurston Halfback
2006 Cameron Smith Hooker
2005 Johnathan Thurston Halfback
2004 Danny Buderus Hooker

Awards cancelled
Due to a dispute with the Rugby League Players Association, the NRL cancelled the Dally M awards 2 days prior to the ceremony. Previously the players had threatened to boycott the event unless the NRL met their demands.

2002 Andrew Johns Halfback
2001 Preston Campbell Fullback
2000 Trent Barrett Five-Eighth
1999 Andrew Johns Halfback
1998 Andrew Johns Halfback
1997 No Award - Super League War
1996 Allan Langer Halfback
1995 Laurie Daley Five-Eighth
1994 Cliff Lyons Five-Eighth
1993 Ricky Stuart
(won both the Dally M Medal and Rothmans Medal)
1992 Gary Freeman Halfback
1991 Michael Potter Fullback
1990 Cliff Lyons Five-Eighth
1989 Gavin Miller
(won both the Dally M Medal and Rothmans Medal)
1988 Gavin Miller Hooker
1987 Peter Sterling
(won both the Dally M Medal and Rothmans Medal)
1986 Peter Sterling Halfback
1985 Greg Alexander Halfback
1984 Michael Potter Fullback
1983 Terry Lamb Halfback
1982 Ray Price Lock
1981 Steve Rogers Centre
1980 Robert Laurie