Rothmans Medal

The Rothmans Medal was awarded to the best player in Rugby League voted on by the referees.

The Rothmans Medal had been forced to withdraw itself from presentations to players due to the fact it was sponsored by Rothmans, Benson & Hedges Inc., a tobacco production company. This was because all tobacco advertising and sponsorship was prohibited in Australia in 1992, under the Tobacco Advertising Prohibition Act 1992.

1996 Jason Taylor Halfback
1995 Paul Green Halfback
1994 David Fairleigh Second Row
1993 Ricky Stuart
(won both the Dally M Medal and Rothmans Medal)
1992 Allan Langer Halfback
1991 Ewan McGrady Lock
1990 Peter Sterling Halfback
1989 Gavin Miller
(won both the Dally M Medal and Rothmans Medal)
Mark Sargent Prop
1988 Barry Russell Halves
1987 Peter Sterling
(won both the Dally M Medal and Rothmans Medal)
1986 Mal Cochrane Centre
1985 Wayne Pearce Lock
1984 Terry Lamb Halfback
1983 Michael Eden Halfback
Five Eighth
1982 Greg Brentnall Fullback
1981 Kevin Hastings Halfback
1980 Geoff Bugden Prop
1979 Ray Price Lock
1978 Michael Cronin Centre
1977 Michael Cronin Centre
1976 Ray Higgs  
1975 Steve Rogers Centre
1974 Graham Eadie Fullback
1973 Ken Maddison  
1972 Tommy Raudonikis Halfback
1971 Dennis Pittard Five Eighth
1970 Kevin Junee  
1969 Dennis Pittard Five Eighth
1968 Terry Hughes