Ken Stephen Medal
Memorial Award

First struck in 1988 to honour the long-time secretary of the NSWRL, the Ken Stephen medal recognizes the outstanding contribution an NRL player has made to the community over the course of a season.
All too often, we marvel at their silky skills on the field without hearing about their inspiring community and charity work that touches the lives of hundreds of thousands of people each year, across the country – and even overseas. The Ken Stephen medal is the highest accolade an NRL player can receive for their work within the community.

Year Medal Winner Team  
2014 Trent Hodkinson As an ambassador for the RSPCA, Hodkinson was a key figure in raising awareness and funding for the Million Paws Walk initiative as well as continuing his altruism on field by writing the name of a sick or disadvantaged child on his kicking tee every game. Hodkinson also formed a special bond with a seven year-old Rebecca Adouni, supporting her and her family as Rebecca went through a period of bullying at school. His friendship with the young Bulldogs fan helped her confidence turn around and become happy and comfortable in her own skin.
2013 Terry Campese Canberra Captain Terry Campese raised more than $100,000 for his “community” that saw him win the top honour at tonight’s 2013 NRL One Community Awards.  Campese launched the Terry Campese Foundation last year after spending almost the entire 2011 and 2012 seasons out with serious injuries and used his time on the sidelines to focus on helping people who have fallen on hard times in Southern New South Wales, Canberra and Queanbeyan. He is also an Ambassador for Ronald McDonald House, CanTeen and Raising Hope.
2012 Johnathan Thurston   The two-time Dally M Medal winner's latest honour was for his hard work helping a wide range of community activities - primarily his commitment to helping Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students through workshops. 
2011 Sam Thaiday Queensland star Sam Thaiday's tireless efforts to help close the gap on Indigenous health and youth issues has earned the Broncos captain-in-waiting the coveted 2011 Telstra Ken Stephen Medal. Thaiday has been rewarded for his outstanding commitment to a wide range of community and charity activities in 2011, including his support of the Queensland health campaign "Deadly Ears"; Indigenous Family and Child Support Service; and Institute of Urban Indigenous Health. 
2010 Andrew Ryan Away from his football commitments Ryan has worked for charities including Camp Quality, beyondblue, Ronald McDonald House, the Children's Hospital at Westmead, the Australian Disability Foundation and the Andrew Ryan Captain's Cup. And what makes Ryan an even more deserving winner is the fact he has been a real quiet achiever, going about his efforts without any fanfare.
2009 Nathan Hindmarsh Hindmarsh’s outstanding service to the game both on and off the field, his dedication to community programs such as Can Assist, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead, Hope Rwanda, The Nathan Hindmarsh Cup and his ongoing work with numerous One Community programs.
2008 Preston Campbell Campbell was honored for his tireless work with Indigenous communities
2007 Ruben Wiki Ruben Wiki for his work in providing leadership to disadvantaged communities in New Zealand;
2006 Michael Monaghan Michael's work with physically and mentally disabled children at the Arranounbai School in Frenchs Forest, Sydney, was judged to be exceptional. His association with the school includes working with the children and assisting in rehabilitation, and he and his Manly teammates have raised $35,000 towards purchasing a bus for the school.
2005 Jason Stevens The retiring ex-Test frontrower has personally raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for charities, with his testimonial dinner alone securing more than $100,000 for Youth Mission Team, which supports the character development of Australian teenagers. Stevens has also worked extensively with the Sharks club chaplain raising awareness about youth suicide.
2004 Dean Widders  For his contributions to the Aboriginal community, Father Chris Riley’s Shine Day Award and the Bounce Back Foundation’s Community Ambassador of the Year award
2003 David Peachey Peachey is the founder of the David Peachey Foundation and works closely with the aboriginal community through organisations such as the National Aboriginal Sports Corporation of Australia (NASCA) and Croc Fest. Peachey also conducts the David Peachey Cup alongside the Russell Richardson Shield, a primary school Rugby League knockout competition, each year in his home town of Dubbo.
2002 Hazem El Masri The winger is also devoted family man whose tireless community work with young people saw him receive the prestigious Ken Stephen Medal in 2002.
2001 The Parramatta Rugby League team Parramatta Eels were nominated as a team for their outstanding community efforts with the Eels on Wheels project, the Ronald McDonald House and the Parra Room at Westmead Children's Hospital, and their contribution to promoting Daffodil Day when the entire team dyed their hair yellow.
2000 Nathan Blacklock  The award is in recognition for Nathan's off-field work with the kids in his home town of Tingha. In November 99, Blacklock began efforts to raise funds to build a community pool for Tingha which will replace the current unsafe dam as a swimming venue. Additionally, he set up 'Tingha Blacklock Youth Trust' which was instigated to assist indigenous kids in country areas with sport and literacy in education. Nathan said. “I think that it is very important to place a priority on children living in regional areas playing the game of Rugby League".
1999 Andrew Ettingshausen  
1998 Mark Coyne  
1997 Paul Harragon  
1996 Not awarded    
1995   Rod Wishart  
1994 Ian Roberts  
1993 Michael Andrews  
1992  Peter Sterling  
1991 Pat Jarvis  
1990 Michael Bolt  
1989 Ricky Walford  
1988 Wayne Pearce