"The Harry Sunderland Medal"
Australian Rugby League International Player of the Year

Harry Sunderland (23 November 1889 – 15 January 1964) was an Australian rugby league football administrator and journalist.

Sunderland was born in Gympie, Queensland in 1889. From 1913 to 1922, Sunderland was the Queensland Rugby League's secretary. His administration is credited with the growth of the League in Queensland despite the First World War. However towards the end of his tenure with the QRL, player discontent with his administration led to the breakaway formation of the Brisbane Rugby League.

After moving to Melbourne, Victoria where he unsuccessfully attempted to promote rugby league, Sunderland returned north and became an administrator of the Australian national team.

Since his death in Chorlton upon Medlock, Manchester in 1964, the Harry Sunderland Medal has been awarded to the best Australian player in each year's international campaign.

So prestigious is the Harry Sunderland Medal that it is only awarded at the discretion of the ARL.

The Honour Roll
1964 Johnny Raper
1966 Billy Smith
1967 Billy Smith
1970 Ron Coote
1974 Ron Coote
1979 Ray Price
1984 Wayne Pearce
1988 Wally Lewis
1992 Bradley Clyde
2004 Anthony Minichiello
2005 Anthony Minichiello
2006 Petero Civoniceva
2008 Darren Lockyer
2010 Paul Gallen
2011 Paul Gallen

Year Medal Winner Tournoment  
2011 Paul Gallen Four Nations
2010 Paul Gallen Four Nations
2008 Darren Lockyer Rugby League World Cup
2006 Petro Civoniceva Tri Nations
2005 Anthony Minichiello Tri Nations
2004 Anthony Minichiello Tri Nations
1992 Bradley Clyde Australia v Great Britain
1988 Wally Lewis Australia v Great Britain
1984 Wayne Pearce Australia v Great Britain
1979 Ray Price Australia v Great Britain
1974 Ron Coote Australia v Great Britain
1970 Ron Coote Australia v Great Britain
1967 Billy Smith Australia v New Zealand
1966 Billy Smith Australia v Great Britain

Johnny Raper

Australia v France