Clive Churchill Medal

This medal is presented to the man-of-the-match in the yearly Rugby League Grand Final.


1986 Peter Sterling (Parramatta)
1987 Cliff Lyons (Manly)
1988 Paul Dunn (Canterbury)
1989 Bradley Clyde (Canberra)
1990 Ricky Stuart (Canberra)
1991 Bradley Clyde (Canberra)
1992 Allan Langer (Brisbane)
1993 Brad Mackay (St George)
1994 David Furner (Canberra)
1995 Jim Dymock (Bulldogs)
1996 Geoff Toovey (Manly)
1997 Robbie O'Davis (Newcastle)
1998 Gorden Tallis (Brisbane)
1999 Brett Kimmorley
2000 Darren Lockyer (Brisbane)

2001 Andrew Johns (Newcastle)
2002 Craig Fitzgibbon (Roosters)
2003 Luke Priddis (Panthers)
2004 Willie Mason (Bulldogs)
2005 Scott Prince (Tigers)
2006 Shaun Berrigan (Broncos)
2007 Greg Inglis (Storm)
2008 Brent Kite (Sea Eagles)
2009 Billy Slater (Storm)
2010 Darius Boyd (Dragons)
2011 Glenn Stewart (Sea Eagles)
2012 Cooper Cronc (Storm)
2013 Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles)
2014 Sam Burgess (Rabbitohs)
2015 Johnathan Thurston (Cowboys)
2016 Luke Lewis (Sharks)
2017 Billy Slater (Storm)

Clive Churchill passed away in 1985 and his name is remembered by the ‘Clive Churchill Stand' at the SCG and the awarding of the ‘Clive Churchill Medal' to the best player in the Grand Final. He is also recognised as one of rugby league's ‘Immortals'.

Awarded the Clive Churchill medal after playing on the losing team

Year Medal Winner Team   Position
2017 Billy Slater Fullback
2016 Luke Lewis Second Row
2015 Johnathan Thurston Halfback
2014 Sam Burgess Prop
2013 Daly Cherry-Evans Halfback
2012 Cooper Cronk Halfback
2011 Glenn Stewart Lock
2010 Darius Boyd Fullback
2009 Billy Slater Fullback
2008 Brent Kite Prop
2007 Greg Inglis Five-Eighth
2006 Shaun Berrigan Hooker
2005 Scott Prince Halfback
2004 Willie Mason Prop
2003 Luke Priddis Hooker
2002 Craig Fitzgibbon Second Row
2001 Andrew Johns Halfback
2000 Darren Lockyer Fullback
1999 Brett Kimmorley Halfback
1998 Gorden Tallis Second Row
1997 Robbie O'Davis Fullback
1996 Geoff Toovey Halfback
1995 Jim Dymock Lock
1994 David Furner Second Row
1993 Brad Mackay Lock
1992 Allan Langer Halfback
1991 Bradley Clyde Lock
1990 Ricky Stuart Halfback
1989 Bradley Clyde Lock
1988 Paul Dunn Prop
1987 Cliff Lyons Five-Eighth
1986 Peter Sterling Halfback

Bradley Clyde was the first player to be awarded the Clive Churchill medal after playing on the losing team, in the Canberra Raiders' loss to the Penrith Panthers in 1991. He is also the only player to ever win the medal twice.

Brad Mackay, for the St. George Dragons is the only other player to win from a losing side, in the team's 1993 loss to the Brisbane Broncos.

Daly Cherry-Evans, for the Manly Sea Eagles won from a losing side, in the team's 2013 loss to the Roosters