2008 NRL Player Drain
There has been a steady exodus of NRL players to the UK Super League over the past few years. This is a list of ex-NRL players currently playing and planning to plan the game in the UK.
Note: Each English Super League team is allowed to have three foreign or quota players players.


ex-NRL Players in the UK 2008

2009 Additions

Leeds Rhinos
  • Quota players: Brent Webb, Scott Donald, Clinton Toopi
  • Kylie Leuluai, Ali Lauitiiti, Danny Williams
  • COACH: Brian McClennan
  • Danny Buderus (ex Knights)
  • Greg Eastwood (ex Broncos)
Catalans Dragons
Catalans Dragons
  • Quota players: Clint Greenshields, Adam Mogg, Justin Murphy, Casey McGuire, Aaron Gorrell, Jason Croker
  • Alex Chan
  • Dane Carlaw
  • COACH: Mick Potter
  • Steve Bell (ex Sea Eagles)
  • Jason Ryles (ex Dragons)
  • Shane Perry (ex Broncos)
St. Helens Saints
St. Helens
  • Quota players: Matthew Gidley, Jason Cayless, Chris Flannery
  • Willie Talau, Francis Meli
  • COACH: Daniel Anderson
  • Tony Puletua (ex Panthers)
Wigan Warriors
Wigan Warriors
  • Quota players: Phil Bailey, Trent Barrett, George Carmont
  • Michael Withers, Pat Richards, Thomas Leuluai, Iafeta Paleaaesina, Shane Millard
  • Mark Riddell (ex Eels)
  • Cameron Phelps (ex Bulldogs May 08)
  • Tim Smith (ex Eels)
Bradford Bulls
Bradford Bulls
  • Quota players: Ben Jeffries, Glenn Morrison, Shontayne Hape
  • Lesley Vainikolo, Joe Vagana, Chris McKenna, Ian Henderson, James Evans, David Solomona
  • Tame Tupou
  • Steve Menzies (ex Manly)
Warrington Wolves
Warrington Wolves
  • Quota players: Chris Hicks, Matt King, Paul Rauhihi, Michael Monaghan
  • Henry Fa'afili, Chris Leikvoll, Vinnie Anderson, Richie Barnett, Louis Anderson
Wakefield Wildcats
Wakefield Wildcats
  • Quota players: Sam Obst, Brad Drew, Tony Martin, Matthew Petersen
  • Semi Tadulala, Ned Catic, Kevin Henderson, Danny Lima, Tevita Latu
Hull Kingston Rovers
Hull KR
  • Quota players: Jake Webster, Ben Galea, Daniel Fitzhenry, Clint Newton, Garrett Crossman, Michael Dobson
  • David Tangata-Toa, Michael Vella, Luke Dyer
Harlequins RL
  • Quota players: Mark McLinden, Matt Gafa, Scott Hill, Chad Randall
  • Tyrone Smith, Karl Temata, Daniel Heckenberg, Lee Hopkins
  • Phil Leuluai
  • Chad Robinson (ex Eels)
  • Luke Williamson (ex Sea Eagles)
Hull F.C.
Hull FC
  • Quota players: Matt Sing, Adam Dykes, Shaun Berrigan
  • Sid Domic, Willie Manu, Hutch Maiava
  • Matthew Head
  • COACH: Peter Sharp
Hudderfield Giants
Huddersfield Giants
  • Quota players: Jamahl Lolesi, Rod Jensen, Shane Elford, Paul Whatuira, John Skandalis
  • Chris Thorman, Chris Nero, Keith Mason
  • Brett Hodgson (ex Tigers)
  • Todd Carney (ex Raiders. Sacked for off field incidents)
  • COACH: Nathan Brown (ex Dragons)

Castleford Tigers
  • Quota players: Brent Sherwin, Awen Guttenbeil, Luke Dorn, Ryan McGoldrick, Ned Catic
  • COACH: Terry Matterson
  • Dean Widders (ex Rabbitohs)
  • Rangi Chase (ex Dragons)

Div 2

ex-NRL Players in the UK 2008

2009 Additions

Salford City Reds  
  • Ray Cashmere (ex Cowboys)
  • Mark Henry (ex Cowboys)
Celtic Crusaders  
  • Marshall Chalk (ex Raiders)
  • Mark Bryant (ex Sea Eagles)
Leigh Centurions    
Sheffield Eagles    
Featherstone Rovers    
Dewsbury Rams    


ex-NRL Players in the 2008

2009 Additions

French Rugby League
  • Daniel Wagon (ex Eels)
  • Russell Aitken (ex Storm)

French Rugby Union
  • Craig Gower (Bayonne), David Vaealiki (Sporting Club Albigeois)
  • Luke Rooney (ex Panthers to French Rugby Union team Toulon)
  • Mark Gasnier (ex Dragons to French Rugby Union team Stade Francais - Coached by ex NSW S14 coach Ewen McKenzie)
  • Sonny Bill Williams  (ex Bulldogs mid season to French Rugby Union team Toulon)

Each English Super League team is allowed to have three foreign or quota players players.

  • Harlequins Rugby League are permitted four quota players as they are considered to be a non-heartland team.

  • French side Catalan Dragons are allowed eight non-French players.

  • Exceptions There are three exceptions for a player to avoid quota player status.

    • 1. When a player has played for a rugby team for six years, he is eligible to gain British citizenship and does not count under the quota .

    • 2. If the player has a passport for any EU nation or a Kolpak nation.

    • 3. If the player is from a Kolpak nation such as Samoa or Tonga.

Information for this page has been provided by various sources. All attempts have been made to verify this information but there is always a possibility of errors. Please notify us of any incorrect information and it will be rectified as soon as possible. The page accepts no liability for any financial loss or misadventure caused by the information it provides on this and associated world wide web pages.

"Rugby League Player Movements"