NRL Player Drain

There has been a steady exodus of NRL players to the UK Super League over the past few years. This is a list of ex-NRL players currently playing and planning to plan the game in the UK.
Note: Each English Super League team is allowed to have three foreign or quota players players.


ex-NRL Players in the UK
(83 players)

2008 Moves

Bradford Bulls
  • Quota players: Ben Harris, Shontayne Hape, Glenn Morrison
  • Lesley Vainikolo, Joe Vagana, Chris McKenna, Ian Henderson, James Evans, David Solomona
  • Tame Tupou (ex Broncos)


Catalans Dragons
  • Quota players: Clint Greenshields, Justin Murphy, Adam Mogg, Casey McGuire, Stacey Jones, Jason Croker, Aaron Gorrell
  • Alex Chan
  • Dane Carlaw (ex Broncos)
Hudderfield Giants
  • Quota players: Jamahl Lolesi, Brad Drew, vacant
  • Shane Elford, Chris Thorman, John Skandalis, Chris Nero, Keith Mason
  • Rod Jensen (ex Cowboys)
  • Paul Whatuira (ex Tigers)
Hull F.C.
  • Quota players: Matt Sing, Richard Swain, Motu Tony
  • Sid Domic, Willie Manu, Hutch Maiava
  • Matthew Head (ex Dragons)
  • Quota players: Mark McLinden, Scott Hill, Chad Randall, Matt Gafa
  • Tyrone Smith, Karl Temata, Daniel Heckenberg, Lee Hopkins
  • Phil Leuluai (ex Sharks)
Salford Reds
  • Quota players: 4 | Aaron Moule6 | Luke Dorn
  • Kevin McGuiness, John Wilshere, Michael Korkidas, Gray Viane
  • Craig Stapleton (Sharks)
  • Quota players: Brent Webb, Scott Donald, Clinton Toopi
  • Kylie Leuluai, Ali Lauitiiti, Danny Williams
Hull Kingston Rovers
  • Quota players: James Webster, Mark O'Neill, vacant
  • David Tangata-Toa, Michael Vella, Luke Dyer
St. Helens Saints
  • Quota players: Matt Gidley, Jason Cayless, Jason Hooper
  • Willie Talau, Francis Meli
  • Chris Flannery (ex Roosters)
Wigan Warriors
  • Quota players: Phil Bailey, Trent Barrett, Bryan Fletcher
  • Michael Withers, Pat Richards, Thomas Leuluai, Iafeta Paleaaesina, David Vaealiki, Shane Millard
Wakefield Wildcats
  • Quota players: Ben Jeffries, Sam Obst, vacant
  • Semi Tadulala, Ned Catic, Kevin Henderson, Danny Lima, Tevita Latu
Warrington Wolves
  • Quota players: Brent Grose, Michael Sullivan, Paul Rauhihi
  • Henry Fa'afili, Chris Leikvoll, Vinnie Anderson, Richie Barnett, Louis Anderson
  • Chris Hicks (ex Sea Eagles)
  • Michael Monaghan (ex Sea Eagles)
  • Matt King (ex Storm)

Each English Super League team is allowed to have three foreign or quota players players.

  • Harlequins Rugby League are permitted four quota players as they are considered to be a non-heartland team.

  • French side Catalan Dragons are allowed eight non-French players.

  • Exceptions There are three exceptions for a player to avoid quota player status.

    • 1. When a player has played for a rugby team for six years, he is eligible to gain British citizenship and does not count under the quota .

    • 2. If the player has a passport for any EU nation or a Kolpak nation.

    • 3. If the player is from a Kolpak nation such as Samoa or Tonga.

Information for this page has been provided by various sources. All attempts have been made to verify this information but there is always a possibility of errors. Please notify us of any incorrect information and it will be rectified as soon as possible. The page accepts no liability for any financial loss or misadventure caused by the information it provides on this and associated world wide web pages.

"Rugby League Player Movements"